DANA WHITE SURPRISED COUTURE’S RESIGNATION WAS HANDLED WITH NO CLASS AND OFFICIALLY ANNOUNCES NO CANADA CARD IN JANUARY

ufc771.jpg 

In his first extensive public comments since speaking with Yahoo’s Kevin Iole, White sounded like he was still befuddled by Couture’s resignation during his meeting with the media at the UFC 77 pre-fight press conference.

“I haven’t talked to (Couture) at all. I called him twice since he’s been in South Africa and he hasn’t returned a call. His resignation didn’t surprise me at all. It’s the way he did that surprised me. It was done very Hollywood with his agent releasing a statement. This is the way Hollywood agents play this stuff. The whole thing was pretty shitty. He’s up to something.”

“He lost twice to Chuck Liddell. And then he called me up after a year and said I want to come out of retirement…I’d like to re-work my contract. He just signed a contract that he was thrilled with eight months ago. He never came to me and said can we do a new contract!”

On a possible fight outside the UFC White said, “He definitely belongs to me. He just signed a new contract eight months ago.”

“The biggest loss for me is that I consider the guy a friend. We all have different paths to walk down..I don’t know what he’s doing. The things that hurts the most is he called us liars. I can tell you Lorenzo and Frank Fertitt have never lied to anyone. The whole thing is mind-boggling.”

“This is not Randy Couture. He’s upset. If this was Tito. I would sit up here and tell you 50 million bad things about the guy. Sometimes friends fight. We’ll see what happens.”

“There isn’t anyone taking better care of fighters than us,” said White, who confirmed that he was in Hawaii with B.J. Penn when he got news of the Couture resignation. “B.J. left and realized it wasn’t a great situation over (in Japan). I was with B.J. the day (Couture resigned) and he said I wish I call to talk to Randy” 

What will happen to the UFC Heavyweight title?

“Right now he’s the heavyweight champ. He’s got fights left with us. How long is he the champ? When all the Hollywood games are over. This whole thing is like a beauty salon. The fighters sit around and gossip. Randy Couture has the 2nd best deal in the UFC. There is no way I would let outsiders come in and make more than the guys who have been here.”

White was questioned if he would continue to keep UFC fighter salary info close to the vest

“Abso-fuckin-lutely! I hate the way all sports are today with all the money talk. They make millions and millions and all you hear is complaining. Randy is a multi-millionaire. Money is just something I don’t like to talk about.”  

“There’s a reason I do things a certain way. Rich Franklin will make $28000 and $28000. There’s a method to the madness.”  

On why other fighters don’t do the same thing Couture did.

“If these guys were unhappy, they’d just walk out. You’ve got a lot of people, Mark Cuban and Showtime, throwing money around. IFL has thrown so much around they’ve almost put themselves out of business. I’ve got guys on 3,4,5,6 fight deals. Why are they re-signing? 

ON THE POSSIBLE MONTREAL, CANADA CARD IN JANUARY

“We had to cancel the Canada date. That was supposed to be the first HBO date.”

Explore posts in the same categories: MMA, UFC

5 Comments on “DANA WHITE SURPRISED COUTURE’S RESIGNATION WAS HANDLED WITH NO CLASS AND OFFICIALLY ANNOUNCES NO CANADA CARD IN JANUARY”


  1. […] Steve Cofield from Fox Sports Radio and ESPN Radio is in Cincinnati to cover UFC 77 this Saturday. Cofield attended a UFC press conference and is attributing the following quote to UFC president Dana White in regard to Randy Couture’s UFC departure: “I haven’t talked to (Couture) at all. His resignation didn’t surprise me at all. It’s the way he did that surprised me. It was done very Hollywood with his agent releasing a statement. The whole thing was pretty shitty. He’s up to something. […]


  2. […] The controvery over Randy Couture’s depature from UFC continues to heat-up. […]


  3. […] DANA WHITE SURPRISED COUTURE’S RESIGNATION WAS HANDLED WITH NO CLASS AND OFFICIALLY ANNOUNCES… [image]  In his first extensive public comments since speaking with Yahoo’s Kevin Iole, White sounded like he […] […]


  4. […] Read the full article and more quotes from DW on Mr. Sunshine’s blog. […]

  5. Baby Milo Says:

    I’m, too, very suprised about the resignation. Angering to me -_-


Leave a Reply

